Book Things · Uncategorized

Differences Between “Vampire Diaries” The Show and The book.

If you do not already know, the popular show on the CW, The Vampire Diaries is based off a book. A book that I have recently decided to read. I loved The Vampire Diaries the show up until these recent seasons but like I have said before I do plan on watching the series finalle.

PAUSE

 If you have not read the books or watched the show and you plan on doing so, I do not recommend you read this artical right away because there a some spoilers.

Okay now I will carry on…

While reading the book I noticed that there are a lot of things that are different. Like Elena’s whole personality. Elena in the show is very nice and just an average next door neighbor girl. Elena in the book is very popular and somewhat self absored. So as you can see the writers of the show changed some things so here I list all the differences I noticed.

(Again spoilers ahead)

 

Elena and Katherine.

The show:

As I mentioned above Elena is very different in the book then she is in the show. In the show she is very nice and just really an average girl. Katherine is the mean one who is mean and pretty much only cares about herself.

The book:

In the book Elena and Katherine’s personalites are reversed. Elena is the fearless girl and Katherine is the one who is very sweet to everyone.

Jeremy Gilbert

The show:

In the show Jeremy Gilbert is Elena’s little brother.

The book:

Jeremy does not even exist in the books. In the books Elena has a four year old sister named Margaret.

Vickie Donovan/ Vickie Bennett

The show:

Vickie is Matt’s brother.

The book:

She is not. In the book she is Vickie Bennett. A lot of the last names are changed in the show. I think the only ones that weren’t changed are Elena’s, Stefan,Damon, and Caroline.

The overall story

The show:

After reading the first two books in the series I started binge watching the show from season 1 and noticed that the story is pretty different too.

In season 1 of the show Elena is not really sure if she wants to be with Stefan after all the drama that begins. I have also seen no sign of Lexi in the book yet.

The book:

In the book Elena is desperate to be with Stefan. She tells him she loves him after thier first kiss. Also in the book Damon tries to kill Stefan by throwing him in a well. Also Caroline and Elena aren’t really friends at all in the first two books. Instead there is Meradith who does not exist in the show.

I probably will not be finishing the series because I did not really enjoy it as much as I do the show. I am glad I read it though. I had fun going back and watching the show and just spotting the differences. I recomend everyone to read it if you love The Vampire Diaries so you can form your own opinion of what you think of it. If you have read it tell me what you thought about it! I’m really interested to hear if people felt the same way I did or even liked it better then the show!

See you tomorrow!

-Jess

 

 

5 thoughts on “Differences Between “Vampire Diaries” The Show and The book.

  1. I read the books when they were first published back in the 90’s, long before the idea of a TV show adaptation existed. I love the books! always have, always will. When I found out that they were making a TV show of it, I knew it was going to be bad. It came right when the Twilight fad was at its peak and I know the producers of the show changed things to mimic Twilight and get people more interested. To me, the show doesn’t even exist. I will never watch it. I don’t mean to sound crazy but I feel pretty strongly about how they ruined one of my favorite book series of all time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

