Uncategorized

How to Make More Friends When You are a Shy Person

 

how-to-make-more-friendswhen-you-are-a-shy-person

Hi guys its Jess. Today I wanted to make a ‘How To’ post but  I couldn’t decide on the topic but then this one just came to me out of nowhere. I think I know a lot about this topic though because it is something I have struggled with for a long time. I have always been a bit shy but I have also always wanted to have a lot of friends. Do you see the problem here?

Over these past couple of years I have gotten better at being a social person and talking to people. I’m still a bit shy when I’m left in a room without any of my close friends but I think I’m a lot less awkward. Anyways here are somethings you can do to start coming out of your shell.

Say Hi To The Person Sitting Next To You 

Just saying hi to the person who is sitting next you in class or anywhere can make a huge difference. It makes you seem about 5x more approachable then you did before. This is a good step for someone who is really shy and has a hard time talking to people they are not close friends with. Just at the beginning of class when you see this person sit down or when you sit down just say a quick “Hi (name of person)”. Also saying their name makes a difference too.

Trust me on this one. I never use to do this unless I actually knew the person but now I do it all the time. It also just makes you feel more comfortable when you say hi to the person you sit next to everyday.

Actually Talk To The Person You Sit Next To 

Okay so you said hi. Now what? Now attempt to talk to actually have a conversation. Don’t make it a bigger deal then it is though just bring up something that you both can talk about. For example in math class. You: Hey do you have any idea how to do this? I’m lost. 

You can kind of just go from there I guess, but just little things like this can start a conversation.

Fake It Til You Make It

For me something I really struggled with was just not seeming awkward in conversations with people I wasn’t very close with. So what I would do would just kind of copy how they acted. If the person I was talking to laughed I would too. If they started smiling then I would too. Even if I didn’t find anything amusing. I’m not sure why this works but it does. If someone comes up to you and is very excited you act excited too.

Feel Confident About Yourself 

This one is pretty important. If you don’t feel confident with the way you look you aren’t going to act confident. I know this affects me a lot because whenever I don’t have enough time to do my make up or my hair I feel way less confident and very self conscious of myself.

I am very good at braiding so if you are looking for a way to spice up your straight hair let me know and I will try to somehow teach you guys some braided hairstyles. Maybe I could host a live stream and teach you guys to braid! Let me know what you think!

I hope this helps really! If you need anymore tips I would be more than happy to help you. You can comment below or email me at: thelolalevy@gmail.com I will for sure get back to you within a few hours.

I know that I have come a long way from being the super shy person. Now I talk to a lot more people and am more myself around people then I was before. I hope this article helped at least one person today.

See you tomorrow!!

-Jess

Photo credit: https://unsplash.com/@sabrit

2 thoughts on “How to Make More Friends When You are a Shy Person

  1. Hey! I loved this post! It was really inspiring and helpful, I may not come across as a shy person but I am absolutely useless at talking to other people and I really want to change that – it’s one of my biggest goals in life haha! Because I love company and talking to people but I’m just not very good at starting the conversation. So thank you so much for this and I am glad that you are starting to overcome your shyness – well done! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

